Unit 1 > Services > Types of care services

Types of care services

People use health and social care services throughout their lives.  The needs of an individual vary according to their life stage and the type of conditions they may have.  Even a healthy individual will need to use the services for immunisation and education.

Health and social care services support people from conception to the end of their life .  A healthy mother will have a healthy child, a healthy child will become a healthy adult.  If people are healthy then resources can be used for those who are unfortunate to be ill or need looking after whether short or long term.

Health services help individuals to be free from illness, injury and pain so that they can carry on with  their normal life.  It is also important for health services to  prevent health problems and encourage  healthy lifestyles.

Social care services aim to improve an individual’s quality of life and help them reach their potential.  They do this by  helping with daily living, listening, encouraging  social interaction and providing stimulating activities.

Health, social care and children’s services can be divided into 4 categories:

  • Statutory
  • Private
  • Voluntary
  • Informal


These are services that are paid for and provided by the government e.g. National Health Service(NHS), school nursing, social services


These are services that are run as a  business to make  a profit e.g. private hospitals, residential homes, private nurseries.


These services are provided by non-profit making organisations that are quite often a registered charity e.g. Age concern, Mencap, National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children(NSPCC)


This type of provision of care is usually carried out by people who want to help others, they are usually unpaid e.g. local church, babysitting group, relatives.

For examples of the main types of health, social care and children’s services refer to the table in the WJEC health and social care GCSE specification.